Crispy Crunchy Churro Waffles

It has been one of those months where the stars have aligned and it seems like everything is happening at once.

DSC_0484

I know we all get those periods in our lives, and it seems like we either thrive and get ALL THE THINGS done and done well….or we’re floundering just trying to get through and make sure nothing on our twenty spinning plates flies to the floor. This time around it has been the latter for me and if something hasn’t been related to work or family, I pretty much just stopped trying to spin the plate. Which means the blog has not been a priority – sorry, friends.

DSC_0426The good news is the source of my busyness is that I’m getting a lot of awesome growth opportunities at work (read: Here is something you should lead but have no experience with and will need to have meetings on meetings on meetings to understand…but you’ll do great! Thanks for “volunteering” to lead this!) and I am definitely being stretched in my leadership skills. You never grow unless you try something new, right?

DSC_0434

ANYWAY. Since life has been crazy I haven’t had a chance to be actually paying attention to the recipes I’m making and I’ve had even less time to even think about photographing them for this lovely part of the internet. Also, I’ve wanted all the sweet and bad-for-you things. Like these waffles.

DSC_0490

I will not even pretend that this is my own original, brilliant idea. The idea came from Pinterest and I used my favorite waffle recipe from a blog that is, sadly, no longer online (like, the domain just expired last week). How sad! These waffles are super soft on the inside but maintain that glorious Belgian waffle crisp on the outside. THEN when you dip them in melted butter and drop them in cinnamon sugar, I swear the heavens open and angels start singing.

DSC_0466

Now I use an old, broken, needs-to-be-replaced square waffle iron, but you can use whatever you have available to you. I personally like the shape of these waffles better than the big round ones (part of why I haven’t replaced my iron), but you can also justify eating TWO tiny little square waffles a little more easily than two GIANT round ones. It makes sense in my head, trust me.

DSC_0469

Also in this recipe, I use a gluten-free flour blend that I adore from Namaste Foods (I am not getting paid for this, I just love this product!) instead of regular flour, but you are welcome to use whatever you prefer. These can also be dairy-free if you use a butter substitute and plant-based milk!

A warmed chocolate ganache to drizzle over these is also pretty delicious for dessert…just sayin’.

DSC_0501

Crispy Crunchy Churro Waffles

Ingredients:
1 3/4 cups flour (gluten-free cup-for-cup blend or regular all-purpose flour)
1/4 cup cornstarch
2 Tbsp sugar
1 Tbsp baking powder
1/2 tsp salt
1 tsp cinnamon
pinch of nutmeg (optional)
1 3/4 cups almond, soy, or 2% dairy milk
1/2 cup cooking oil (vegetable, canola, or something light and flavorless)
1 1/2 tsp vanilla extract
2 eggs

For the topping:
1/4 cup butter or plant-based spread, melted in a low, shallow bowl
1/2 cup sugar
1-2 tsp cinnamon, depending on your taste

Directions:
1. Grease your waffle iron and preheat.
2. Mix the dry ingredients together in a large bowl. In a separate bowl, combine the milk, cooking oil, vanilla, and eggs and whisk until combined.
3. Add the wet mixture to the dry ingredients and mix until just combined. Be careful not to overmix; some lumps are just fine.
4. Mix the sugar and cinnamon for the topping in a low, shallow bowl and set aside.
5. Pour about 1/3 cup of batter per half of a waffle iron (2/3-3/4 cup for the whole iron, if you’re using a standard round Belgian shape). Cook for about 3 1/2 minutes, or until your iron tells you it’s done.
6. Remove the cooked waffle(s) from the iron and transfer to the shallow bowl with the melted butter, coating each side lightly.
7. Drop the butter-coated waffle into the cinnamon sugar mixture, flipping and using a spoon to coat the missed nooks and crannies.
8. Serve immediately with your favorite toppings. Strawberries, chocolate, and whipped cream all go well with these guys!

Leave a Reply

