Easy Chicken Tacos with Quick Pico de Gallo

It’s Taco Tuesday!!

DSC_0590.png

Tacos could easily be all six meals of the day for me (breakfast, morning snack, lunch, afternoon snack, dinner, dessert…they’re all pretty equal in importance in my book). Breakfast tacos are not my favorite since I never really liked eggs even as a child, but Choco Tacos were BY FAR my favorite novelty ice cream growing up. Forget a trip to Ben & Jerry’s, I wanted to go to Taco Bell for a CHOCO TACO. Yeah. I know. Strange child.

DSC_0109 (2).png

Now that just a bite of ice cream makes me sick, I stick to the delicious lunch/dinner taco varieties. These bad boys are my go-to for a super easy but super delicious weeknight meal. I also like to use the leftover meat for nachos or as a flavorful addition to a Southwest salad. For the salad, on top of spinach or romaine add some red onions, black olives, corn, black beans, and crushed tortilla chips. Spritz with lime and maybe add a dollop of sour cream & a sprinkle of cheese – adios, sad desk lunch!

DSC_0576.png

I prefer to make this simple pico de gallo instead of adding salsa. It not only makes me feel like I’m eating more veggies, but it is basically everything I would add to my tacos before the salsa. Fewer steps = time savings. Some may call me lazy – I prefer the term “efficient.” Work smarter, not harder…right?

Now, just grab a warm tortilla, add your favorite toppings and you’ll be golden.

DSC_0591.png

 

Weeknight Tacos & Easy Pico de Gallo

Taco Meat

Ingredients:
1 lb chicken thighs
Juice of half a lime
1 Tbsp Chili Powder
1 ½ tsp ground Cumin
½ tsp Paprika
¼ tsp Garlic powder
¼ tsp Onion powder
¼ tsp Oregano
1 tsp black pepper
1 tsp salt

Directions:
Preheat oven to 350. Place chicken in a baking dish (I use a 2 qt. stoneware baking dish) and top with lime juice. Mix all spices together in a small bowl and coat the chicken with spice mixture. Bake for 25-35 minutes, or until chicken is cooked through. Roughly chop or shred the chicken, depending on your preference for texture.

Pico de Gallo

Ingredients:
3 Roma tomatoes, cored and diced
½ small red onion, diced
¼ cup chopped cilantro
Juice of half a lime
1 clove garlic, minced
¼ tsp cumin

Directions:
Combine all ingredients in a medium bowl and mix well.

Leave a Reply

